Western Storm players named in ICC Team of the Year

Western Storm Team

For the first time ever, the ICC has announced their Women’s Team of the Year.

The team is made up of the leading players of 2016 and is captained by Stafanie Taylor who helped the West Indies to their maiden ICC World Twenty20 and also impressed for the Western Storm in the Kia Superleague.

Stafanie Taylor

Three other Storm players feature in the XI and they are England Captain Heather Knight, England Vice Captain Anya Shrubsole plus New Zealand wicket-keeper Rachel Priest.

Heather Anya Rachel

The side was selected by a panel consisting of Australia great Mel Jones, former England Captain Clare Connor and former India player Shubhangi Kulkarni, based on performances between 14 September 2015 and 20 September 2016.

The team in full is:

ICC Women's XI

Following the announcement of the team Western Storm General Manager Lisa Pagett said: “It’s fantastic to see the announcement of the ICC Women’s Team of the Year and find so many of our Storm girls recognised.  We know from the team’s achievements this summer that we have top quality players in Heather, Anya, Stafanie & Rachel and it’s fantastic that they have been identified globally as the world-class cricketers they are.  All four players are brilliant role models and it’s fantastic for both Western Storm and women’s cricket in the South West that we’ve had these players demonstrating their calibre in the 2016 Kia Super League season”.