Western Storm announce Development Squad

Western Storm Logo

Western Storm have announced the names of the players who make up their Development Squad.

Each Kia Super League side has selected a group of players from their regions who they will now work with in a bid to ensure that the best local talent reaches its potential.

Following the announcement Western Storm General Manager Lisa Pagett said: “There are 12 girls on the programme and they have been selected from all across the region.  There are players from Somerset, Devon, Cornwall, Gloucestershire and Wales in the squad and they have all been nominated by their respective counties as players of genuine potential.

“30 players were nominated from within the South West to attend a Talent Observation Day where they were put through their paces by the Western Storm Coaches, under the watchful eye of ECB scouts.  We consider the 12 players who have been selected on this programme to have real potential and moving forward could well develop in to cricketers who will play for the Western Storm or be involved in ECB programmes in the future.”

The programme is not solely about cricket as Lisa explained: “It’s a year round programme,” she said.  “As well numerous training days, which will be spread across the region to include the Cooper Associates County Ground, the Brightside County Ground and the University of Exeter, there are various other elements to the initiative in place in order to help these players to develop in the best way that they can.  There will be Strength & Conditioning support, nutritional advice plus work in to the psychology of the sport.  It’s not just about them developing as cricketers, it’s about helping them to develop as people.  There is much more to the programme than just playing cricket, it’s about helping to educate the players as well.”

The full Western Storm Development Squad is as follows:

Alex Griffith (Wales)
Cassie Coombes (Somerset)
Charlotte Scarborough (Wales)
Daisy Meadowcroft (Devon)
Danielle Gibson (Gloucestershire)
Ellie Mitchell (Cornwall)
Evie Pitman (Devon)
Georgia Parfitt (Wales)
Natasha Wraith (Gloucestershire)
Olivia Hamilton (Somerset)
Sophie Hamilton (Somerset)
Stephanie Hutchins (Devon)