Second XI T20: Double victory for Somerset

2nd XI

Somerset Second XI bounced back in style from yesterday’s narrow Championship defeat when they won both T20 matches against Sussex at Taunton Vale Sports Club.

In the first match Somerset won the toss and elected to bat.  Openers Johann Myburgh and Jim Allenby got Somerset off to a good start and put on 75 for the first wicket.  Allenby was the man to go when he was dismissed for 42.  Myburgh then put on 41 with Roelof van der Merwe before he was out for an impressive 57 from 43 balls as Somerset reached 116 for two.  Van der Merwe went on to make 32 and Adam Hose 21 as Somerset made 160 for two from their allotted overs.

Requiring 161 for victory, the Sussex batsmen were never allowed to settle thanks to an impressive display by the Somerset bowlers and they were dismissed for 106.  Van der Merwe was the pick of the bowlers as he claimed four for 12 from four overs whilst Liam Redrup took three for 26, Max Waller two for 19 and Dom Bess one for 14.  Somerset won by 54 runs.

To see the scorecard from match one please click here for the live scorecard

For the second match Sussex won the toss and elected to bat.  Harry Finch top scored with 38 but the Somerset bowlers again kept the scoring rate down as Sussex were restricted to 141 for five.  Liam Redrup took two for 28 whilst the was a wicket each for Waller and Sam Grant and Michael Leask ran out Fynn Hudson-Prentice.

In reply Somerset openers Myburgh and Hose put on an opening stand of 69 before Myburgh was out for 37 off 19 balls.  Leask came in at three and smashed his way to 43 from 21 deliveries before he was dismissed to leave Somerset on 124 for two.  Hose was eventually out for 40 and van der Merwe went for 0 but Alex Barrow and Allenby saw Somerset over the line as Somerset won by six wickets.

To see the scorecard from the second match please click here

The Somerset squad is: J. Allenby*, J. Myburgh, R. van der Merwe, A. Hose, M. Leask, A. Barrow+, M. Waller, S. Grant, C. Harrison, L. Redrup, D. Bess, T. Barber.