2nd XI: Somerset do the double over local rivals

2nd XI

The Somerset Second XI were in T20 action again today when they traveled to Bristol University Sports Ground at Combe Dingle to play two games against  Gloucestershire.

In game one the home side won the toss, elected to field and made an early breakthrough when Johann Myburgh was bowled by Matt Taylor for eight.  Adam Hose and George Bartlett took the score to 62 with a partnership of 53 before the latter was dismissed for 33 from just 23 balls.  Hose went on to make 22 whilst Michael Leask top scored with 62 from just 35 balls as Somerset reached 164 for five from their 20 overs.

In reply Gloucestershire reached 24 before Yasir Arafat claimed the wicket of opener Tom Smith when he was caught by Leask for nine.  Brandon Gilmour and Ian Cockbain then put on 46 for the second wicket before Gilmour was bowled by Josh Davey for 18.  Cockbain was run out by Max Waller for 55 and wickets continued to fall as the Somerset bowlers ensured that their hosts could not keep up with the required run rate.

Gloucestershire could only reach 144 for nine from their allotted overs as Somerset won by 20 runs.

Arafat was the pick of the bowlers as he claimed three for 15 from his four overs.  Davey took two for 20 from three overs and there was a wicket each for Waller and Roelof van der Merwe.

To see the scorecard from the first match please click here

In match two Somerset won the toss and elected to bat.  Although Myburgh failed to score, Bartlett and Davey put on 41 for the second wicket.  A rain delay meant that the match was reduced to 12 overs per side and once play resumed a rapid 20 from van der Merwe helped to ensure that Somerset posted a total of 113 for six.  Davey top scored with 35 off 18 balls.

The Gloucestershire reply never really got going as the Somerset bowlers dominated and at the end of their allotted overs the home side were 64 for nine as Somerset wrapped up the victory by 50 runs.

Captain Max Waller was the pick of the bowlers with three for 18 whilst van der Merwe claimed two for six and Dom Bess took two for seven.  Ben Green and Liam Redrup also claimed a wicket.

To see the scorecard from match two please click here

The Somerset squad for these matches was: Alex Barrow, Yasir Arafat, Roelof van der Merwe, Michael Leask, Adam Hose, Johann Myburgh, Dom Bess, Ben Green, Josh Davey, Liam Redrup, George Bartlett and Max Waller.