Somerset v Gloucestershire: Double T20 – Match Abandoned



Unfortunately play has been abandoned here at Taunton Vale with only 13 overs possible during the T20 double header against Gloucestershire.

Somerset  Gloucestershire 240316

Somerset batted first under gloomy skies and quickly set about posting a formidable total, Adam Hose and Jim Allenby putting on 83 for the first wicket. After an initial rain delay, Hose was bowled by Currill for 35 from 33 balls. Peter Trego joined Allenby and batted in his typical positive manner, reaching 26 not out from just 11 deliveries.

Somerset  Gloucestershire 240316

Shortly after Allenby ran past a quick off-break from Taylor, the rain returned and the players headed for the changing rooms, with Jim scoring 46 from 29 balls. Despite a few breaks in the weather, the umpires decided that the chances of completing the game were slim and both matches were called off.

Somerset  Gloucestershire 240316

Match Preview:

New signings Michael Leask and Roelof van der Merwe have been named in the Somerset squad to face Gloucestershire in two T20 matches at Taunton Vale today.

The weather in Taunton is dry but overcast and the first game should start on time at 11am. The second is due to begin at 2.45pm.

Leask has been on World T20 duty with Scotland while Van der Merwe has recently returned from playing for Holland in the same tournament.

Both have been out at Taunton Vale practicing in the nets over the last couple of days and will be keen to make their mark in a Somerset shirt.

Looking ahead to the two T20 matches, Matt Maynard the Somerset Director of Cricket said: “This is another opportunity for the lads to get and practice some white ball cricket.

Matt added: “The last three days against Gloucestershire have been an excellent work out for the boys and on Friday we will focus on the white ball game.”

The full squad is – Jim Allenby (captain), Tom Abell, Alex Barrow,  Adam Hose, Josh Davey, Ryan Davies, Lewis Gregory, Tim Groenewald, , James Hildreth, Michael Leask, Roelof van der Merwe, Craig Overton, Pete Trego and Max Waller.